Community

 
Post Reply
Quick Reply
Cancel
Co-op LAN
5 years ago  ::  Jan 26, 2010 - 1:24PM #1
Shigeshoshi
Posts: 6
The main reason I bought Saints Row 2 was for the Co-op, but I seem to be having problems when hosting, or joining a game.

Me and my brother have been trying to play through a Co-op game, but we lose connection with eachother 3 minutes in. We are both using my Steam account, seeing as I should only need one copy of Saints Row 2 for LAN play.

I have all the necessary ports forwarded to a set DMZ address, which didn't make a difference. I have also added Saints Row 2 to my Firewall Exceptions List. I even tryed changing my router.

If anyone could help find a fix for this, I would appreciate it.


Shigeshoshi.
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Jun 19, 2009 - 11:15AM #2
Philtastic
Posts: 351
My guess is it's a Steam DRM issue. When you both connect to the same "server", Steam might be checking for use of the same game key. I know that older games used to do something like this with LAN games.

Of course, this is pure speculation on my part but that would be my best guess.
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Jun 19, 2009 - 11:27AM #3
V-Singular
Posts: 6,522
Both people on LAN need to own a copy of the game. You cannot run multiple copies off of a single steam name.
0 (0 Ratings)
Follow me on Twitter - @One_Letter (http://www.twitter.com/One_Letter)
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Jun 19, 2009 - 11:57AM #4
Shigeshoshi
Posts: 6
V-Singular, do you mean I can't, or I shouldn't? Two people can use the same account if one of the two people, or both, is in Offline Mode. We've played Steam games (On LAN) using only my account a few times.


Shigeshoshi.
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Jun 19, 2009 - 12:04PM #5
V-Singular
Posts: 6,522
You need 2 copies of SR2 in order to play Co-op/LAN.
0 (0 Ratings)
Follow me on Twitter - @One_Letter (http://www.twitter.com/One_Letter)
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Jun 19, 2009 - 1:09PM #6
Shigeshoshi
Posts: 6
This is the first game with LAN capability that I've had to of had two copies of in order to use the LAN function.

I suppose I'll buy another copy, then. :roll:


Shigeshoshi.

Edit:
We just tryed playing LAN again with the second copy of Saints Row 2 I bought. It has been registered to his (my brother) Steam account, but we are still having the same problem.

We are using static IP's, so it can't be an IP conflict.

An explanation as to why this isn't working would be appreciated.


Shigeshoshi.
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Jun 25, 2009 - 7:33AM #7
Shigeshoshi
Posts: 6
Bump.
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Jun 25, 2009 - 1:11PM #8
Half-DeadWonder
Posts: 200
You'd actually be way more likely to have an IP conflict with static IPs rather than letting DHCP take care of it, though I doubt thats the problem in this case.

It can be a bit confusing to set up a game, with their being multiple methods that work under different circumstances. Unfortunatly I'm not very good at walking people through things without being able to look at what they're doing, so I can't help there.

There could be some interference from backround programs, exspecially firewall and anti-virus software, though its usually a good idea to disable as many of those as possible when playing any game in general, though especially so for SR2 and its hunger for hard-drive speed.

That's all I got for now, maybe you or somebody else can come up with more ideas.
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Jun 25, 2009 - 1:58PM #9
Philtastic
Posts: 351
Another thing to help troubleshoot the problem would be to check if you can see each other's computers on your network, perhaps even try sharing files by right-clicking on one of your folders and setting it to "share" so that the other computers on the network can access them. If you can't get that to work, there's probably something wrong with your network.
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Jun 25, 2009 - 2:22PM #10
Shigeshoshi
Posts: 6
This is all basic stuff to me, so it's useless. The problem lies elsewhere.

I'm not going to bother trying anymore. I've got other games to play, with working co-op compatability.


Shigeshoshi.
0 (0 Ratings)
Quick Reply
Cancel
Post Reply
Quick Reply
Cancel
Jump Menu:
    Viewing this thread :: 0 registered and 1 guest
    No registered users viewing